The Son of Digital Technology

James Seng
2 min readMar 16, 2021

Born in 2001, like myself, the digital world was still very young, young enough that no one could really know what ‘technology’ was and what it would become, however, in my case, it was the first of many doors opened in my life. I grew up admiring and aspiring to become a gamer as I watched professional players around the world win championships back-to-back while making incredible plays and having fun in the process. But how exactly did something so young and unknown like ‘digital technology’ become so important in my life? To answer that, we need to go back in time.

It started in 2008, I was first introduced to a digital screen significant enough to change lives. Now I am sure many of you can imagine what it was like when you first saw a digital screen, and no, not that big box your dad calls a television, for myself, this change was like getting a prosthesis. Before I was introduced to the screen, I was best described as an outdoor child, wanting to play ball everyday regardless of the conditions. Afterward, I found myself and many other young teenagers in front of that screen every day.

While I wasn’t able to spend countless hours in front of the screen, the time I was able to however, I’d spend every minute I could, playing games and sharpen my skills hoping one day I could play games competitively and if possible, professionally. The advancements of digital technology allowed myself, and many others, to connect to people worldwide through social media, and for those whom also found their interest in gaming, streams. Streaming allowed players, especially professional players, to broadcast their games live globally, providing the gaming community like myself the inspiration and opportunity to analyse how they perceive the game and adapt it to our own play-style.

Fast-forwarding to present day, while I still heavily play games whenever provided the chance, the drive I once had to become a professional gamer as a child is far less fuelled nowadays due to the competitive nature of Esports. The mentality of a gamer has stuck with me ever since the first game I played, this includes the ability to think five or ten steps ahead of the opponent and the near impossible reaction time which can be translated into real world applications such as organising plans or avoiding accidents.

This snapshot shows some applications I use on a daily basis.

While this blog has to be cut short, I hope many generous readers can understand what technology, more specifically, gaming, has done for me and how it can inspire many young children in generations to come as it did myself, although it may not have to be through gaming and rather social media. Thank you for reading and I hope to see you next time.

Kind regards,

James

--

--